Alex Chilton Reissues Expanded Version Of A Man Called Destruction Aug 25th

MEMPHIS, Tenn. — As lead singer of the Box Tops and co-founder of Big Star, Alex Chilton already had a place in rock history. But he was never one to rest on his laurels. An enormous music fan himself, he consistently reinvented his own sound throughout his career, until his death in 2010.

Chilton returned to Memphis’ legendary Ardent Studios and a reconstituted Ardent label to record Destruction, a classic mix of originals and covers, this time with a full-horn section. Featuring an eclectic mixture of garage rock, jazz and R&B, A Man Called Destruction, released in 1995, was well received by fans and critics, and even landed him a spot on Late Night With Conan O’Brien performing the album’s “Lies.”

The Orlando Sentinel observed: “Plenty of bands attempt, however feebly, to reproduce Big Star’s melancholic power-pop. But nobody else would dare try to approximate the brilliant, offhand weirdness and subtle irony of Chilton’s later solo work. Teenage Fan Club might be able to imitate Big Star’s guitar sound on ‘September Gurls,’ but they couldn’t transmogrify ‘Volare’ the way Chilton did on 1987’s High Priest. Destruction is very much in the tradition of High Priest — a peculiar mélange of deliriously cheesy pop.”

Destruction will re-appear via Omnivore Recordings on August 25, 2017, complete with seven previously unissued tracks from the original sessions and new liner notes from journalist and author Bob Mehr (Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements).

To make this reintroduction even more special, the title is making its vinyl debut. The first pressing will be a translucent blue double album, which includes all of the bonus tracks, a download card, and Mehr’s essay in the gatefold sleeve.

With the renewed interest and appreciation for his work in Big Star, it is the perfect time for Chilton’s solo work to get the same due. It is time for a reintroduction of A Man Called Destruction.

Track Listing:

1. Sick And Tired

2. Devil Girl

3. Lies

4. It’s Your Funeral

5. What’s Your Sign Girl

6. Il Ribelle

7. You Don’t Have To Go

8. Boplexity

9. New Girl In School

10. You’re Lookin’ Good

11. Don’t Know Anymore

12. Don’t Stop


Previously Unissued Bonus Tracks:

13. Devil Girl (Double-Track Vocal)

14. Don’t Know Anymore (Rough Mix)

15. Give It To Me Baby (Take 3)

16. You’re My Favorite

17. (I Don’t Know Why) But I Do

18. Please Pass Me My Walkin’ Shoes

19. Why Should I Care/It’s Your Funeral